WealthWithHeart Blog

July 28, 2010

Not a Maze But a Labyrinth: The Heady Joys of Internet Marketing

Yesterday morning I received an email from one of my newer team members, who is going to be a super-star in her own right.  Because we live in different parts of the world, there is a significant time difference.  I try to get an email off to her before my head sinks into that big, luxurious, neatly contained collection of fluffy down feathers, and by morning I always have a reply.

So early yesterday she gave me yet another impressive run-down of what she has accomplished.  Like me, she is thrilled and energized by all the learning with which one is inundated, if one truly embraces this industry (and all that mastering it entails).   Given the massive amounts of information coming at her from seemingly endless sources, in addition to the superb trainings within our particular system, she sometimes finds it hard to focus.  Indeed! I assured her this was a very natural and normal part of the process, and suggested she make a list of objectives she wants to accomplish each day, as a way to help stay on track.  In part she wrote,

“Every time I read something, I find some very important information that I feel I must learn more about which takes me ‘off on a tangent’ from the very important thing that I was already trying to learn more about, which has already taken me ‘off on a tangent’ from the first very important thing I was learning about! And it goes on!”

I know the feeling, as well as the experience, and it is an important part of the learning process. Thinking of my own tantalizing tangents reminds me of the distinction between a maze and a labyrinth.   According to Webster’s, the definition of a maze is: “A complicated, usually confusing network of passageways or pathways.  To stupefy: daze.”

And Webster’s defines a labyrinth as: “An intricate structure of winding, interconnecting passageways.”

For me, engaging in Internet marketing feels like being in a labyrinth.  It is intricate, but the aspects are interconnected, and there is a structure.  In the beginning it can, and usually does, feel dizzyingly confusing.  But unlike a maze, it need not be stupefying; and as with a labyrinth, there truly is a way out – that is to say, an actual passageway to real success.

This is one of the reasons that I love CarbonCopy Pro.  It is a proven system, wherein the twists and turns and intricacies are mapped out for us, as members.  And we have the benefit of an entire community of online entrepreneurs who are not only on the journey with us – but many, many leaders who have gone before us and know the way. Like a true labyrinth (as opposed to a maze) which “…has an unambiguous route and is not designed to be difficult to navigate” (Kern), the CarbonCopy Pro system is designed to show us the way. It’s a complex and remarkably scenic route which traverses nothing less than the World Wide Web, and connects us with like-minded folks who are committed to helping others and prospering.  I’d love to have you join us – on this, the journey of a lifetime.

2 Comments »

  1. WooHoo!
    How nice to discover another correct contextual usage-and definition of;WoW!-“Labyrinth vs. maze”..
    Kudos and Thanks to you!

    from: Judy Hopen, labyrinth-maker of portable canvas & permanent labyrinths; presenter, facilitator and ‘educator of’ all things labyrinths!

    Comment by Judy Hopen, 'labyrintiste extraordinaire' — July 29, 2010 @ 10:44 AM

    • Dear Judy,
      Thank you for your kind words. I am delighted to learn of your work and imagine our paths just might cross in the future. Thanks, too, for the work you do. More soon! Warmly, Linda

      Comment by Linda — July 29, 2010 @ 3:36 PM


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.